Our Vision

"To become an excellent institution that provides efficient and productive service"

Our Mission

"To provide services according to the government policies, uplift the lifestyles of the society through a planned, efficient development process consisting of proper co-ordination of resources and participation of the people"

Information about the Division

Our Divisional Secretariat is one of the 19 Divisional Secretariat Divisions of a Historic Galle District and is the main entrance to the Southern Province from the Western Province. Our Divisional Secretariat area covers 9.5 km from the North to the South, parallel to the coastal belt, and Bentota division extends from the coastal area of 12 km.

In the Bentota Divisional Secretariat Division, the tourist area is parallel to the coastal boundary and the Benthara River, while its large scale resorts and hotels are located. Due to the inland waterways and islands, the area has been attractive and has been attractively attracting tourists. The present government has also been deeply concerned to develop the dedduwa reservoir area as a tourist zone.

Location of Bentota Divisional Secretariat Division,

600 to 2000, 600 to 2100 degrees of North latitude and

Eastern longitudes are located between 800 - 00, 800 - 90. 

Boundaries of the Bentota Divisional Secretariat are as follows. 

The bordering the Kalutara District between the North and the Northeast,

On the East, Elpitiya Divisional Secretariat (Elpitiya Canal)

On the South, Karandeniya and Balapitiya Divisional Secretariat Division

On the west, the Indian Ocean.

History of Bentota Divisional Secretariat

According to folklore, the name of the Bentota area is from the "Bem", the Devil, who had been taken to the Bentara River at the time. It was believed that Bamthota, which was famous for its demonization at a time, was in Bentota last summer. In the past, the Dutch used port of entry to Sri Lanka through the Bentota coast. 

The history of Bentota has a long period of time.The historically important 05 temples of Bodhi Samipa Rajamaha Viharaya, Wanawasa Rajamaha Viharaya, Ganepurana Rajamaha Viharaya, Bodhimaluwa Raja Maha Viharaya and Galpatha Rajamaha Viharaya are situated in the division and archaeological evidence was found that,at that time these temples inter connect from tunnels each other.King Saddhatissa's brother, King Dutugemunu, remained in this area when collecting military battles and it was said that the area was used as a place where the soldiers were stationed.

Location of Bentota Divisional Secretariat Office

When arriving from Colombo, a distance of 03 km  should pass from Aluthgama town& Starting from Galle it is 69 km away from Galle Road. our office is located  adjacent to the Bentota Pradeshiya Sabha.


The Bentota Divisional Secretariat has provided human and physical resources to provide an efficient service to the public. In order to ensure a satisfactory and efficient public service for the clients, it is coordinated with an organized organizational structure and human resources of the Institute.150 to 175 of clients visit our office with the intention of getting their servicesin daily. Through the eGovernment concept, we have been able to provide the office facilities with the latest technology to provide services to the public soon.

From 1985 to 2010, the Registrar Division has the facility to issue all Birth, Marriage and Death certificates within the Island. Birth, Marriage and Death certificates in respect of Colombo, Gampaha and Kurunegala districts can be issued up to the year 2015. We also have the facility of issuing all vehicle revenue licenses in the Southern Province.

Chief administrative officers in charge of the Bentota Division

 No. Name Year of Service
   Divisional Revenue Officers
 01  Mr. D.S Karannagoda  1962
 02  Mr.M.G.Chandrarathna  1967
 03  Mr.Y.W.Gunawardana  1968
 04  Mr.K.W.Livera  1970
   Assistant Government Agents / District Assistant GAs
 05  Mr.N.A.Obadage  1972
 06  Mr.E.E.Ginadasa  1973
 07  Mr.S.G.Udamatta  1974
 08  Mr.M.G.S. Dhammasena  1975
 09  Mr.D.Somajeewa  1983
   Divisional Secretaries / Additional Government Agents
 10  Mr.D.Somajeewa  1990
 11 Mr.T.A.Gunadasa  1992.08
 12 Mr.W.Weerakoon (Acting)  2000.08
 13 Mr.U.D.C.Jayalal  2000.12
 14 Mr.K.K.Gunapala  2006.02
 15 Mr.U.G.Vidura Kariyawasam  2012.10
 16 Mr.W.W.K.Vithanage (At Present)  2013.11


News & Events

Blood Donation Campaign - 2018.10.30

Blood Donation Campaign - 2018.10.30

More Blood..... More Life Donate your blood...

Special events of  "Nilasewana" office buildings Opening Ceremony - 2018  October 06

Special events of "Nilasewana" office buildings Opening Ceremony - 2018 October 06

  Nilasewana multipurpose Office Buildings at Miriswatte,...

Scroll To Top